02
Jul
07

Pownce

I’ve been using the new start-up from Kevin Rose, Daniel Burka, Shawn Allen and the lovely Leah Culver for the past few days, and I must say, it’s really, really nice.

Pownce is a new way to send information to your friends. That information could be in the form of a simple message, an event invitation, a link to a website, or even a file. And it’s all in Web 2.0 and AJAX fashion. Very cool.

https://i1.wp.com/imageho.st/thumbnail/48624picture1.jpg.png

Above is a photo of the top of your Pownce homepage. As you can see it follows a kind of minimalistic pattern, in that the banner is small but effective, and not taking up a large fraction of the page. As you can see, the left side shows you your current photo, and some of your profile details, such as gender, and location.

https://i0.wp.com/i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/i/bto/20070627/pownce-air_270x337.jpg

Though I haven’t used it, an Adobe AIR application also comes alongside Pownce. It makes for a quick way of creating new notes, sending files, events, etc. to Pownce, without having to use the website. Definitely looks useful. I should install it, but I have heard that AIR eats CPU, which is a downside.

The rest really needs to be discovered for yourself. It’s really a great website, and I’d like you all to try it out. I’ve got 6 invites left, so if you want one just let me know; I’ll get you in. 🙂

Brad

1 Response to “Pownce”


  1. July 7, 2007 at 4:31 am

    I have it too. It’s great :D.


Leave a Reply

